Winner of 2019 Osborne Award announced

veterinary nephrology

The 2019 IRIS Osborne Award, generously sponsored by Elanco Animal Health, is to be awarded to Dr Stephen DiBartola in recognition of his career-spanning contributions to the field of veterinary nephrology.

The International Renal Interest Society (IRIS) was created in 1998 to advance the scientific understanding of kidney disease in small animals. The IRIS board currently consists of 15 members representing 11 different countries. The Osborne Award is the top honour bestowed by the group and consists of a plaque and a cheque for $15,000.

Osborne prize
Dr Stephen DiBartola

Dr DiBartola will receive his award at the ACVIM Forum in Pheonix, Arizona, next month, where he will present an overview of his research. 

Dr DiBartola’s contributions to veterinary nephrology have been outstanding including 105 scientific, peer-reviewed publications, 82 book chapters and 21 abstracts—although he is probably best known for his long-serving editorship of the Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine and for the reference textbook Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid Base Disorders in Small Animal Practice, which is commonly referred to by residents and faculty simply as ‘DiBartola’.

“I can’t tell you how humbling it is to have been nominated for and receive this award—the list of my colleagues who have received it before me is the family tree of veterinary nephrology, and I’ve known all of them personally,” Dr DiBartola said. 

“I’m old enough to remember reading the first edition of Osborne, Low and Finco’s Canine and Feline Urology (published in 1972) cover to cover when I was a veterinary student.

“However, as is widely known to my colleagues, it is Dennis Chew I have to thank for my career in the field. He was, is and always will be a huge inspiration to me.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here